什么是电熔?

电熔
在熔接不适用的情况下,例如在必须添加阀门、弯头和三通时,可采用电熔这种简单的方法连接聚乙烯管材。可使用预制的管件,结合熔合塑料管件和管材的电加热盘管,使管件和管材熔合。

 

通过管件上的条形码,记录需要焊接的管件特性(如熔化时间)。电熔控制装置(ECU)提供加热盘管所需的电能。当盘管通电后,与之相邻的材料便熔化并形成一个不断扩大的槽,与管材表面相接。持续导入的热能使管材表面熔化,且管材和管件熔化同时进行,这是形成良好焊接的关键。热循环结束后,待管件和管材冷却,已熔化的材料凝固,便形成完好的连接。

盘管通电后,会形成热区段和冷区段(有时也称作熔化区段和凝固区段)。这些区段的长度至关重要。每个区段确保将熔化精确控制在管件插口的长度范围内,并确保熔压在整个连接过程中受到控制。精确控制的距离和盘管相对于插口内表面的精确定位可确保热量分布均匀。

温度、压力和时间-这些基本熔化参数,由电容控制装置控制,电容控制装置根据从管件本身读取的条形码确定这些参数。电熔控制装置也提供所遵循的程序的参数记录。

目前可使用小型电熔控制装置。利用这种小型装置,只需一人便可安全地进行槽内电熔焊接。

电熔的效果取决于准备接合表面时的精细程度,以及是否确保在焊接和冷却循环中需焊接的表面接触良好。在熔合前,需要刮擦将熔合的管材表面,除去表面的氧化层。在熔合过程中,应使用管夹或其它准许的方法来限制、对准和复圆管材。

若要准备接合表面,必须使用管材或管件制造商推荐的相关刮管刀刮擦管材表面,以刮除指定区域内管材整个表面约0.3毫米厚的表层。金属锉刀、粗锉、砂纸等不适合用作管端加工工具。刮擦后,必须用管材或管件制造商推荐的经认可的Ispropanol浸渍抹布拭擦表面,除去任何残留物。不建议使用甲基化酒精、丙酮、甲基乙基酮(MEK)或其它溶剂拭擦被刮擦过的表面。在焊接前,刮擦后的表面必须完全干透。

适当焊接后形成的连接与原来的管材同样坚固,并能承受常规安装和操作中施加的所有负荷。

参考资料

ISO 12176-2:2000塑料管材和管件-聚乙烯系统的熔接设备-第2部分:电熔

Created Sunday 08 February 2009


TOP

What is electrofusion?

Electrofusion is a simple method of joining PE pipes in circumstances where butt fusion is not practicable, such as where valves, elbows, and tees must be added. Prefabricated fittings are used, incorporating an electrical heating coil which melts the plastic of both the fitting and the pipe, causing them to fuse together.

The characteristics of the fitting to be welded, such as the fusion time, are registered via a barcode on the fitting. An electrofusion control unit (ECU) supplies the electrical energy necessary to heat the coil. When the coil is energised, the material adjacent to it melts and forms an expanding pool which comes into contact with the surface of the pipe. The continued introduction of heat energy causes the pipe surface to melt and a mixing of pipe melt and fitting melt takes place; this is vital to produce a good weld. Following the termination of the heat cycle, the fitting and the pipe are left to cool and the melted material solidifies to form a sound joint.

Hot and cold zones, sometimes called melt and freeze zones, are formed after energising the coil. The length of these zones is particularly important. Each zone ensures that fusion is controlled to a precise length of the socket of the fitting and that the melt pressure is also controlled throughout the entire jointing process. The precisely controlled pitch and positioning of the coil in relation to the inner surface of the socket ensures uniform heat distribution.

The basic fusion parameters: temperature, pressure and time, are controlled by the ECU which is programmed to establish these parameters from the barcode read from the fitting itself. The ECU also provides a permanent record of the procedure followed.

Compact ECUs are now available that allow in-trench electrofusion welding to be carried out safely by just one-man.

The effectiveness of electrofusion depends on attention to preparation of the jointing surfaces and ensuring that the surfaces to be welded have satisfactory contact during the welding and cooling cycles. The pipe surfaces to be fused need to be scraped to remove the surface oxidation layer prior to fusion. Pipe clamps or other approved methods of restraining, aligning and rerounding the pipes during the fusion cycle should be used.

To prepare the jointing surfaces the pipe surface must be scraped with an appropriate pipe scraper, as recommended by the pipe or fitting manufacturer, to remove the entire surface of the pipe over the area indicated, to a depth of approximately 0.3mm. Metal files, rasps, emery paper etc are not suitable end preparation tools. Following scraping the scraped surface must be wiped with an authorised Ispropanol impregnated pipewipe, as recommended by the pipe or fitting manufacturer, to remove any dust residue. Methylated spirits, acetone, methyl ethyl ketone (MEK) or other solvents are not recommended for wiping the scraped surface. The prepared surfaces must be completely dry before proceeding.

The resulting joint, when properly made, is as strong as the original pipe and can withstand all the loads applied during routine installation and operation.

 References

ISO 12176-2:2000 Plastics pipes and fittings - Equipment for fusion jointing polyethylene systems - Part 2: Electrofusion

Created Sunday 08 February 2009


TOP