聚乙烯管材是否适用于饮用水?

自二十世纪五十年代引进聚乙烯管道系统以来,我们的客户便一直使用这种管道系统供应饮用水。在确保所用产品不会对水质产生有害影响方面,塑料业肩负重任。

针对聚乙烯管材所采取的一系列测试通常包括对水的味道、气味和外观以及对水生微生物生长的测试。比起大多数欧洲国家目前对传统管材材料(如金属、水泥、水泥衬里管材产品)所进行的测试,这一测试更为全面。因此我们更加坚信,在大多数工作条件下,聚乙烯管材均可用于供应饮用水。

虽然欧洲各国所采用的相关国家法规和测试方式之间存在某些差异,但使用聚乙烯管材输送饮用水已获得各国认可。下列机构的批准在欧洲其它国家,有时甚至在全球都可获得承认:

英国

饮用水监管局(DWI)

德国

Deutsche Verein des Gas- und Wasserfaches (DVGW)

荷兰

KIWA NV

法国

CRECEP Centre de Recherche, d'Expertise et de
Contrôle des Eaux de Paris

美国

国家卫生基金会(NSF)

对于饮用水用聚乙烯100管材中所含的化合物,应予以明确规定。此外,聚乙烯100管材可由蓝色或黑色化合物制成,上面带有表示其适用于饮用水的蓝色条纹。

有关聚乙烯管材获准用于饮用水的更多信息,可向管材制造商咨询(如需要)。

为遵从相关法规并确保以相同的方式处理所有饮用水用材料,目前正根据欧盟委员会指令98/83/EC编制欧洲批准方案(EAS,European Approval Scheme)。若干欧洲水务监管机构(European Water Regulator)组成的小组以及饮用水用建筑产品监管小组(RG-CPDW,Regulators Group for Construction Products in Contact with Drinking Water)将对方案的制定进行监督。预计EAS将于2006年以有限形式实施,但是,只有在经过一段时间后,当所有材料的测试方法均出台时,EAS方能全面实施。

欧盟各成员国均对饮用水用塑料管材进行严格测试。长期以来,原材料供应商协会(Plastics Europe)一直倡议将食品接触塑料用于供应饮用水,因为食品接触法是最严苛的法律,可保障消费者的健康,并按照欧洲委员会食品科学委员会(欧盟食品标准局的委员会之一)指引的要求进行毒理学评价。例如,丹麦在采用食品接触法规的同时,还采用了额外的安全标准,而丹麦的饮用水标准是欧洲最为繁苛的标准之一。

相关标准化活动载于CEN TC 155/AHG 37,而有关情况的定期更新则发布在TC 155 Times www.plasticpipesgroup.com上,以及由teppfa@skynet.be发送的TEPPFA新闻通讯(TEPPFA Newsletter)中。

Created Sunday 08 February 2009


TOP

Is PE pipe suitable for potable water applications?

Polyethylene pipeline systems have been used by our customers for drinking water supply since their introduction in the 1950s. The plastics industry has taken great responsibility in ensuring that the products used do not adversely affect water quality.

The range of tests undertaken on PE pipes normally covers taste, odour, appearance of water, and tests for growth of aquatic micro-organisms. This is a more extensive range of tests than is currently applied to traditional pipe materials, such as metals and cement and cement lined products, in most European countries. Thus there is a greater confidence that PE pipe can be used for potable water supply under most operating conditions.

There is some variation in such national regulations and test methods used between the countries in Europe. Approval for potable water application has been granted in all countries. The following bodies' approvals are recognised in other European countries and sometimes more globally:

UK Drinking Water Inspectorate (DWI)
Germany Deutsche Verein des Gas- und Wasserfaches (DVGW)
Netherlands KIWA NV
France CRECEP Centre de Recherche, d'Expertise et de
Contrôle des Eaux de Paris
USA National Sanitary Foundation (NSF)

PE100 pipe compounds should be formulated for use in potable water applications. Moreover PE100 pipe can be manufactured from either blue or black compound with blue stripes identifying it as suitable for use in potable water applications.

Further information regarding approval for potable water use can be obtained from the pipe manufacturer if required.

In order to harmonise the regulations and to ensure that all materials used in contact with drinking water are treated in the same way, the EAS European Approval Scheme is being developed, based on European Commission Directive 98/83/EC. This is being overseen by a group of the European Water Regulators, RG-CPDW - Regulators Group for Construction Products in Contact with Drinking Water. It is intended that the EAS will come into force in 2006 in a limited form, but it seems unlikely that it can be fully implemented until a considerably later date when test methods are in place for all materials.

Plastic pipes for drinking water are tested rigorously by each EU Member State. The raw materials suppliers' association ( Plastics Europe ) has long advocated using food contact plastics for drinking water applications, because food contact laws are the most stringent to safeguard consumers' health and use toxicological evaluations as required in the guidelines of the European Commission's Scientific Committee for Food (one of the committees of the EU Food Standards Agency). Denmark, for example, uses food contact legislation and uses additional safety criteria. The Danish drinking water standard is one of the most onerous in Europe.

Related standardisation activities are covered by CEN TC 155/AHG 37, and regular updates of the situation are reported in TC 155 Times www.plasticpipesgroup.com and also in the TEPPFA Newsletter available from teppfa@skynet.be.

Created Sunday 08 February 2009


TOP